Colorado law says if the “check engine” light is on, the vehicle fails the emissions inspection immediately. … The automatic fail means drivers have to have minor repairs not associated with emissions fixed before they can pass the inspection.
Can your car still pass inspection check engine light?
There is an extremely small chance you can pass an emissions test by resetting the check engine light. However, this is not advised as masking a potentially serious issue poses a risk to not only you, but other drivers and passengers on the road.
How do I avoid emissions testing in Colorado?
Your vehicle is exempt from emissions inspections in Colorado if you meet any of the following criteria.
- You drive a vehicle that is less than seven model years old.
- You drive an all-electric vehicle.
- You drive a collector vehicle from 1975 or older.
How do I pass emissions in Colorado?
Fully warm up your vehicle before testing. Until your vehicle is at normal operating temperature, it emits excess pollution. Run your vehicle at highway speed for at least 15 minutes prior to undergoing an emissions test. Limit use of air conditioning and defroster if possible.
How do you turn off check engine light for emissions?
Leave the battery disconnected for at least 15 minutes. Then put your key into the ignition and turn it three times to the “ON” position. This will clear the emissions data from the vehicle memory as well as the readiness flag data. Reconnect the positive battery cable and turn the key in the vehicle ignition.
How many miles can you drive with check engine light on?
So why is the light still on? Here’s something you probably don’t know: after clearing the car’s computer you will need to drive for about 50 to 100 miles. As you drive your car the computer will monitor all the sensors and register the results. You can use GOFAR to constantly monitor your car diagnostics.
What happens if you fail emissions test Colorado?
If your vehicle failed an initial inspection, received documented repairs that cost at least $715, and still failed a re-inspection, you may apply for a waiver from the Colorado Department of Revenue. There are two types of waivers available if a vehicle continues to fail the emissions inspection.
Does Denver require emissions testing?
When Is An Emissions Test Required? The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles requires residents of Denver County to get emissions inspections as part of the State’s overall strategy to improve air quality throughout Denver and the front range.
How old does a car have to be to be exempt from emissions in Colorado?
Gas and hybrid vehicles are exempt from emissions testing for the first seven (7) model years. (However, if you are buying and registering a vehicle that has reached 7 years, even if the 7th year is not complete, you will need an emissions test.) Vehicles from 1981 or older must be tested every year at a cost of $15.
Can a dealership sell a car that won’t pass emissions in Colorado?
Typically no, the dealership cannot sell you a car that won’t pass inspection. The car must pass smog or it cannot be sold.
What year vehicles are exempt from emissions in Colorado?
AIR CARE COLORADO MAP AND PERTINANT INFORMATION
|2021 Gas Emissions Requirements|
|1976 or newer|
|1975 and older with Collector Plates||Exempt||n/a|
How long is an emissions test valid in Colorado?
State regulation provides for a 30-day grace period for your annual or biennial emissions test upon expiration. Put simply, this means you have a month (30 days) after your current registration/tags expire to get an emissions inspection and complete the registration renewal process.